Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Daily Goodie Box October 2018

Disclaimer: I received the following product(s) in exchange for my review. All opinions my own.


I received a Goodie Box for the month of October 2018 and it's filled with all kinds of goodies. From nuts and toothpaste to coffee and shampoo, there's something for everyone in this kit! Check it out below. 



This is a great shampoo and body wash, that works so well for cleaning your baby's skin. It's also good for those with sensitivities as it is free of phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate, and parabens. It is all pH-balanced and tear free. The soap foams well and washes away with ease. I would prefer it to have a slight oil feel to it because it just feels so airy but overall it's really great. I really enjoy the soft Chamomile scent as well. 

NightFood Bars for when you're feeling a little munchy. 
These bars are great to eat if you need a midnight snack. They are snackable and give you just enough to feel satisfied, without overdoing it. Each bar provides the right amount of protein while being high in fiber and low in calories. One bar has less sugar in it than a cup of skim milk so you can indulge in a tasty treat instead of a warm glass of milk! I received the flavor Midnight Chocolate Crunch for my bar, and though I wasn't in love with the flavor, I like the idea of this product. It makes you feel like you're eating a candy bar but without the extra junk. I would love to try their other flavors!

Said to be an 'elegant coffee with balanced flavor, aroma, and acidity' ... At first taste of this coffee, I thought it was too bitter. The balance feels off and it didn't fell elegant, but the aroma was satisfying. I found that once I added more grounds to the brew, the better the coffee started to taste. It's not a flavor that would be my first choice, but I like this coffee brand and love that is it ethically sourced, organic, fairtrade, and kosher. They also have a good variety of other flavors to enjoy.

This is a pretty handy wallet to add to your phone. It makes for easy grabbing when you need specific cards and don't want to take your wallet with you. I'm always afraid the cards will slide out but this one seems to be pretty good. It has a snap closure to keep the cards in place and it's slim enough to keep in your pocket. It's also compatible with all the latest phones so it would make a great stocking stuffer gift.

I really enjoyed trying out this toothpaste and could really taste the Tea Tree and Clove flavors. Though it contains no fluoride or sodium lauryl sulfate, it produced suds well and left my teeth feeling clean. I like that Coral White helps prevent cavities by raising the pH in your saliva while it also works on whitening the teeth and keeping the breath fresh. I also like that it's said that the whole food mineral complex from the fossilized stony coral minerals in this toothpaste, will also help re-mineralize the enamel on your teeth! Now that's pretty cool.

I really wanted to love this product but Matcha tea is a strong taste that makes it really hard for me to enjoy. I found it to be bitter with really small amounts of mint. It would have been nice to taste the mint a bit stronger. I like that matcha is supposed to help improve your mood, memory, and concentration, among other great benefits to drinking, but I have a hard time enjoying the taste. If you like drinking matcha, this would be a great tea for you!

This is the first time I've tried Vegan Mayo so that was exciting for me. I was shocked on the flavor as it was more tart than I was expecting. I wanted to like it, but I have to admit I prefer regular Mayo to the vegan one. I do like that this is made from garbanzo beans and 100% pure avocado oil. It's a good substitute for vegans to eat Mayo, and it's a flavor I could adjust to if I had to. The texture is perfect and just as you would expect it to be.

Cashews are my number one favorite nut, so trying these was a fun chance in a unique flavor. Peri Peri Roasted Cashews were the ones I got to try. They have a hint of exotic red chili spice, giving them a little kick. The full list of seasonings contain Chili, Onion, Garlic, Sea Salt, Natural Cane Sugar, Lime Powder, Natural Chili Extract, Natural Onion Extract, Natural Garlic Extract, so you can imagine the flavor on these nuts. I would have liked to try one of their other sweeter flavors, as I am not a big spice fan, but these were still great!

If you like energy drinks, you might enjoy trying an Iron Energy. It's a drink crafted in Europe, designed with organic products and sweeteners to provide a 'better for you' energy drink. I;m not a fan of energy drinks, but I did try the one I received, which was in the flavor: Tutti Fruity. It's nothing I want to drink but I'm sure others might enjoy it!



As always, I have enjoyed trying each product from this round of Goodie Box. If you would like to sample your own products, visit DailyGoodieBox.com and sign up!

I received complimentary product(s) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions my own.


Sunday, October 28, 2018

Guest Post by Melissa Chan: Literary Book Gifts


*Guest Post by: Melissa Chan, designer of Literary Book Gifts


   "Literary Book Gifts is a brand new online store that has unique products for readers and writers of all ages. Sometimes it can be easier to turn on the TV or read magazines than to open up a book and read it from start to finish. Each item in the shop is created with the idea in mind to promote the love, enjoyment, and discussion of reading. In particular, the collection focuses on vintage designs and classic novels. These books have been around for such a long time that you can easily find and read them for free online or at your local library.

   I started Literary Book Gifts earlier this year. I had a few designs ready and I loved the idea of a wide selection of apparel and bags being available online for delivery right to your door. The collection showcases unique in-house designs, you will not find the same products elsewhere. Today I will be focusing on just a few of the products available in the store. In addition, there is an exclusive promo code just for you at the end of this article!



   The Typewriter Tote Bag is just one of the many bag options available. Perfect for carrying an actual typewriter, but also great for carrying books, binders, sweaters, and other daily necessities around town. This vintage typewriter is lightly distressed and in a black print on a beige background. The handles are black and made of cotton. Style this tote bag with a neutral color palette for a complete literary look!

   To go with the tote bags there is a wide selection of shirts available in both men's and women's sizing. The Vintage Book T-Shirt showcases a subtle literary design. A small book encapsulated by rays of sun. All the women's designs are also available in men's shirts as well.

   The Frankenstein T-Shirt for men is perfect to wear for Halloween and year round for fans of Mary Shelley's classic. What I love about the collection is that it has specific titles such as this one and more generic literature related clothing, such as the items mentioned above. I hope you enjoyed reading a bit about the designs and the shop."

 
   For readers of Temporary Waffle, the exclusive code TemporaryWaffle20 can be entered at checkout to receive 20% off! There is no minimum and this code does not expire.

*Written by Melissa Chan book enthusiast and designer at Literary Book Gifts.


Monday, October 1, 2018

World Peas and Healthy Snacking With Peatos

Disclaimer: I received the following product(s) in exchange for my review. All opinions my own. 


Let's face it; Snacking is something we all do, but looking for healthier alternatives makes snacking better for everyone. Got that crave for a crunchy, cheesy, snack? Peatos has you covered. 


   Peatos is a healthy alternative to Cheetos, made with real cheese, peas and lentils. They pack in 2x the protein, 3x the fiber, and less fat than other munching options out there. They bring in the "junk food" without all that extra junk, so you can feel good about snacking on these delicious crunchy morsels. Each bite is packed with nutrients giving you "pulse power" which are edible seeds from beans, lentils, chickpeas, and peas, making this an excellent source of plant based protein and fiber. Peatos are also GMO-free and gluten free, made without any artificial flavors. They are currently available in four flavors: Classic Cheese, Chili Cheese, Fiery Hot, and Masala. 


   In trying the four flavors of Peatos, I have a severe love for their Classic Cheese. If I find myself craving Cheetos, but don't want the unhealthy aspect, I will reach for the Classic Cheese Peatos and find myself more than satisfied. Each bite has the right amount of crunch and flavor, made with real cheese, and seasoning that includes Buttermilk solids, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, and tumeric.

   When I want a more savory flavor, I reach for the Chili Cheese Peatos. These would me my 2nd favorite, as they remind me a bit of the Chili Cheese Fritos I love so much. They have a similar chili seasoning, but are more fulfilling due to the healthier ingredients that include cheese, tomato powder, onion and garlic powder, whey, paprika, jalapeno powder, and natural smoke flavor.

   If I want a more spicy version, I would reach for the Fiery Hot Peatos. These are spicy, I would say maybe they are similar to Takis. They contain seasoning that includes white distilled vinegar, citric acid, vegetable juice, malic acid, natural smoke flavor, and Annatto extract.

   And last, for a more unique savory flavor I would reach for the Masala Peatos. These have a very nice flavor and are probably my 3rd favorite. Some of their added ingredients include onion and garlic powder, natural flavor, citric and malic acid, and beta carotene. 


Each bag of Peatos is delicious in their own way and make an excellent snack the whole family will love. You can find Peatos available for purchase in your local grocery stores or you can shop for them online at Amazon


Visit worldpeasbrand.com for more information! 

*What flavor are you most interested in?  
Would you like to try Peatos for yourself? One reader has the chance to win a kit of Peatos snacks to enjoy! Enter through Rafflecopter below. Good luck!
 


I received a complimentary product in exchange for an honest review. All opinions my own.